Haruna Iddrisu removed as Minority Leader

Early morning News is able to report that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has altered its parliamentary leadership.

Haruna Iddrisu, the MP for Tamale South, has been replaced as the Minority Leader by Casiel Ato Forson, the Ranking Member of the Finance Committee and Member of Parliament for the Ajumako-Enyan-Esiam Constituency in the Central Region.

Deputy Minority Leader James Klutse Avedzi has been replaced by Armah Kofi Buah, MP for Ellembelle, while Minority Whip Muntaka Mubarak has been replaced by Kwame Agbodza, MP for Asawase.

However, Comfort Doyo-Ghansah and Ahmed Ibrahim have continued in their roles as First and Second Deputy Whips, respectively.

Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, the National Chairman of the NDC, announced in March 2021 that the party was thinking about changing its parliamentary leadership.

There is some work in progress. After every election, we reconstitute the leadership of Parliament even if it means reconfirming them. We haven’t done that yet because of the court cases. We started but got to a point and felt that we need to finish with the court cases first. So it is something we are considering. But there will be a definite statement. I am sure by the time, they [Parliament] return from the break, we would have taken this decision

Read the attached released letter from the NEC

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights